Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Greater View Distance

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    EU - Chaos - Dralk
    Posts
    136

    Default Greater View Distance

    I was wondering if there is any mod allowing for greater view distance ?
    Along with the ability to see resources for greater distances too.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    It depends which server board I think is which.
    Posts
    1,601

    Default Re: Greater View Distance

    While there might not be a mod for it (unless you count the 'Putting Horizons back in Horizons' thread that edited the sky), you can look in your "ClientPrefs_Graphic.def" in your preference folder for these lines of text:

    Code:
    	float loadDist = 500
    	float unloadDist = 550
    	float terrainLoadDist = 650
    	float terrainUnloadDist = 700
            ....
    	float fogStartDist = 423.64453
    	float fogEndDist = 500
    Try messing with those and see what comes up - but be sure to put it on your resources_override, not sure if the client messes with that file on start-up.

    Beware if you do put it in resources_override though, your in-game options might not change the graphics anymore. After all, it seems to correspond to the original file
    Last edited by Racktor; August 16th, 2015 at 03:16 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    EU - Chaos - Dralk
    Posts
    136

    Default Re: Greater View Distance

    Quote Originally Posted by Racktor View Post
    Code:
    	float loadDist = 500
    	float unloadDist = 550
    	float terrainLoadDist = 650
    	float terrainUnloadDist = 700
            ....
    	float fogStartDist = 423.64453
    	float fogEndDist = 500
    I added +500 to each one of them and it does increased the range , thanks
    Although It doesn't seem to change the resource range visibility.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    It depends which server board I think is which.
    Posts
    1,601

    Default Re: Greater View Distance

    Hmm. Was thinking that would edit the resource load dist if you edited "loadDist".

    I also see this in there " float effectMaxLoadRange = 50" but that's probably just for spell effects and whatnot. Resource and mob loading distance might be server-side, then

    Either way, you're welcome Just note that you might crash a bit more if you have a larger view distance. Is why the devs cut it back in the first place

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Distance/Directional arrow Resources target window
    By Cegaiel in forum Suggestions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 29th, 2014, 05:56 AM
  2. Resouce Distance Glitch
    By Korchak Strongbone in forum General
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: May 8th, 2012, 01:16 PM
  3. Game Performance - Viewing Distance
    By Mordoth in forum Hardware Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 25th, 2009, 10:25 PM
  4. Greater Ice Blights
    By Firedragon in forum Game Bugs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 30th, 2004, 09:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •