Thread: I'm 29 and thinking of a career change, am I stupid and naive? Too old?

Default I'm 29 and thinking of a career change, am I stupid and naive? Too old?

Seriously the thought is a bit scary. Now what I would like to do is computer animation. I'm not going to quit my job and go to school full time but I will start this interest as a hobby and see where it goes from there. If it's something that I really dig then I will build up a portfolio and go back to University.

Am I stupid though? Too old? The thought is intimidating but I have a Bachelors in History, and unless I want to do teaching...I'm going no where fast with it. Not to mention...it doesn't interest me all that much. It was more my parents dream of being history teachers that was passed through me and I being the stupid kid, went along with it. What did it matter? As long as I had that piece of paper saying I finished college, then I was okay right? Right? Riiiiiggghhhttt...

Now I"m in a career that's alright, by no means am I passionate about it but it pays alright, can pay even more if I stick with it.

I just for some reason have this block in my head saying I missed my boat and there's no going back, I'm too old or it will cost too much.

Anyone else out there go through something like this and seen it through?

Any computer animators out there with some advice for starting out or even if I should?
    Order Shard - Atlanna Embergaze 100/100 Adult:
    A'Sasha Windrider - Member of Keir Chet k'Eilerten

Default Re: I'm 29 and thinking of a career change, am I stupid and naive? Too old?

No matter how set you think you are, life has a way of introducing interesting surprises. IMO, a hobby that you can expand into a second career is a good thing, unless it interferes too much with your primary (chosen) career before you're ready to give that up.

Default Re: I'm 29 and thinking of a career change, am I stupid and naive? Too old?