Thread: Flickering startup screen/crash

Default Flickering startup screen/crash

There isn't a software section so I figured I'd stick this here. I'm a long time MMO veteran (EQ1 launch day) and have recently come across Istaria (never got into horizons at launch) and would love to get into the world and give it a go on the order server.

To clarify, I am running windows 32 bit Vista but I had no problems installing the game and creating an account (seems to be a slew of issues with vista posted on these forums). The issue I am having is that when the game finishes patching and goes to launch the client my monitor starts flickering between the istaria client, a black screen and my desktop. There is no error message, but inevitably the client crashes out and back to my desktop after a few minutes of the flickering patterns.

I am using a dual monitor setup and my primary monitor is a 42" HD 1080p westinghouse. I suspect it may be the 1900x1280 resolution I am running as the culprit of my problem. I will test a few different resolutions tonight after I get off work, but I wanted to post a general inquiry to see if any other istaria veterans might have had this issue or heard of someone else having it.

I look forward to meeting some of you in game and giving Istaria a try.

~Hektor

Default Re: Flickering startup screen/crash

That's a strange launch error... the Vista problems posted on the forum were generally for the previous version of Istaria that did not support 32-bit Vista and typically crashed on startup. The current version supports Vista and Windows 7, but there are still lots of forum postings about the old issues and possible work-arounds.

The typical issue with Istaria startup problems are usually video-driver related, do you have the latest versions installed? You might also try to turn on the debug logs to find out any additional information, there are directions on how to do this on the Troubleshooting section.

HTH