Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Computer? Home built or name brand?

Default Computer? Home built or name brand?

Hey everyone, I was just curious to see what kinda hardware you all are running in your current computer. There have been some posts in the past but are all out of date so I'm starting a new one!!

Tell me what ever you want including what you got in your tower, monitor(s) size, type, speeds, colors, show pictures if you like , liquid cooled or fan cooled? Customized or bought from store? How long have you been using/building computers? I just like to know what people got, its fun for me

Personally I've been building computers for 14 years. I'm currently using a Lightly modified Dell XPS. I made the choice with my most recent computer to buy a pre-built than modify it for a few reasons but the main point was cost. I got more power through the pre-built, but knew what the faults were going to be. So I changed those items out with proper hardware, specs are as follows;

Windows 7

Hardware
    1000 watt power-supply
    Intel i7-8400k (Sandy Bridge version)
    8 Gigs of DDR3 ram
    Radeon HD 8650
    1.5 TB Hard Drive
    4-channel manual fan controller
    Custom LED lighting

I run dual monitors: A 22" 1080p widescreen and a 26" gaming monitor. I personally prefer fan cooling over liquid cooling. I've had friends go in that direction and my computer would be running at a cooler temp. Its all about proper airflow and good wire management.

Heres a picture:

Darn good cable managment if I do say so myself.

Just a little drunk dwarven bi-ped wreaking havoc in chaos.

Default Re: Computer? Home built or name brand?

Well.. currently I'm using the following..

CPU: i7-970 Gulftown 3.2GHz (using stock Air cooler, cuz I'm not OC'in it yet)
    RAM: CORSAIR XMS3 x 12 GB
    Mobo: ASUS Sabertooth X58 LGA 1366 Intel X58 Motherboard..
    VID: MSI Twin Frozr II OC GeForce GTX 570 x2 (SLI Mode Active)