Thread: Advice from others

Default Advice from others

Um, I'm starting soon to study at a college... Diploma type course, 2 years, expensive as hell (*gag*), but otherwise nice. But anyways the study program is "Game art and Design", a course for people wanting to do games but more the art and writing side than the programmy side, just because I draw better than talking (And confusing) machines. Highly specialized picky school, so its not a "Buy your diploma" type place either.

Anyways, I have heard the game industry is really competitive, and was wondering if there was anyone around the boards who does game stuff. I guess Virtrium can add their two cents here too if they wish. All I want to know is what advice can you give me while I'm studying to better my chances of hopping on board with a company as an intern, and not getting chewed and spit out again.

Or if you have any other advice you think might be helpful, feel free to share.

Default Re: Advice from others

I can't tell you much about getting into the gaming industry since I don't have any experience with that. College in general, though...

Ramen bricks. You'll learn to do all sorts of meals with them.

On a more serious note, focus more on becoming aware of what's out there. Don't get bent on scoring perfectly. You'll have a better time (and better grades!) if you enjoy the coursework and don't stress over taking the next test.

I'd say one of the most important things you /should/ learn in college is how to "play the game". You'll get more work than you can handle. You'll get work in subjects you don't understand too well. You'll be forced to work with idiots. Trust me, it will happen. The lesson is in figuring out how to handle those situations and bend the rules without tanking your academic career or your sanity. Oddly, this isn't a course by itself for some reason, it's just something you learn through experience.