Thread: A commentary on the "Upcoming changes..." thread

Default A commentary on the "Upcoming changes..." thread

The “Upcoming Changes for dragons” thread looks like it didn't work out the way it was intended. (Well, I don't know what the intent was, but I'm pretty sure it wasn't to get the devs and players riled up.) However, some good seems to have come out of it. It acted as a catalyst to bring up areas of contention between players and developers, get some pent-up feelings out, and in some ways, better understand each other.

Now that there's a lull in activity, I want to step in and point out some of these 'lessons'. Some of these are from observation, some of them from personal experience. The latter was obtained through... should I say... unintended casualty. To those who I have angered, please take this as an apology – I'm still learning how to convey myself too.

Do note that in this thread, you're welcome to disagree with me, question my judgment, agree with me, share your own experiences, and even help revise my interpretations. You may not, however, use this as an opportunity to vent your frustrations by non-constructively criticizing ('bashing') or outright insulting anyone -- players or developers. Let's try to keep this thread from going off topic, getting locked, or deleted. I know you can do it.

Oh... where to start?