Thread: Hello and goodbye

Default Hello and goodbye

Greetings. I know this is a little unorthodox, to be saying hello in the "taking a leave" forum, but I thought it would be appropriate as I am a new player to Istaria - and one who is leaving in such short amount of time that a "hello" would just be frivolous. I'm posting this thread to share some of my thoughts on the game and on why I am leaving it. I said I wouldn't when I was in-game, but I feel I really have to put down my thoughts so that they're recorded for the sake of the new player.

This is going to be a long post. The tl;dr version is: I am a newbie who doesn't like the game because it was too hard.

Just as a bit of background, I'm a 23 year old veteran MMORPG player with experience dating back to EverQuest, having played it back when it was still considered the top dog. I've had stints with several other MMORPGs, including Lineage 2, City of Heroes, EVE Online, and World of WarCraft. I have been gaming quite literally since I could pick up a controller, and with the rise of online gaming, I've been quite the MMO-hound, seeking to enjoy a well-designed adventure with a good community.

A friend pointed me at this game, noting it for being a primarily PVE, player-based, dragon-sporting MMORPG. It looked intriguing, since I greatly enjoy player-run economies, diverse crafting skills, and dragons. I wanted to give it a shot to see if it might be worth paying for, since I can't go willy-nilly and pay for every MMO that comes along, so I decided to try the "free" route and test out a human.