Thread: Idea for a gaming rig for Istaria (and other games)

Default Idea for a gaming rig for Istaria (and other games)

I am going to be buying a new computer in January, whether I build it myself (which I have 0 experience with) or buy it pre-built, I am not sure. My budget is between $1,000 and $1,200 USD. I want to be able to play Istaria on as highest settings as possible, and also be able to play other games I enjoy (the new games for PC with high-end graphics, darkfall, mortal online, etc..).

What do you guys think? Should I go the build-it-yourself route? It'll probably give me more bang for my buck, but I have no experience with it and I wouldn't have any idea on where to begin looking for parts, finding the best deals, what is compatible with other parts, etc... But, I'm quite confident in my ability to actually put together a computer and install an OS. So, if you think I go this route, could you offer my some help? Either by giving me a list of the best possible parts and such I could get? (Preferably from tiger direct or newegg), or give me some pointers on how I can best find them myself?

Or, if you think I should go prebuilt, can you give me some ideas on what to look for? Or even post some links to some possible machines I could buy? (Again, preferably from tiger direct or newegg, but I'd willing to go from other sources as long as they are well known/credible).

Also, I'm looking for a desktop computer, not a laptop.

Thank you in advance for all your comments, suggestions, ideas, etc...

Default Re: Idea for a gaming rig for Istaria (and other games)